Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: How to Make a Fighting Game Script -- Video Tutorial with MK11

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    GOLD NOVA IV

User Info Menu

How to Make a Fighting Game Script -- Video Tutorial with MK11

With the release of MK11 and its custom variations, I decided it was time to try and make a guide on how to make fighting game scripts. Since custom variations allow for potentially thousands of different combinations, there's no guarantee your favorite variation will ever get its own script, so I thought now would be a better time than ever to try and help people learn how to make their own. This is my first time ever trying to make a video of any kind, so I apologize in advance for the amateur quality.

I'd like to briefly go over who this tutorial is for first. I intended it to be used by people who already have a basic understanding of GPC. By that I mean that you know things like:
    - what the main and combo sections are
    - basic GPC commands like get_val, combo_run, event_press, set_val, etc. and what they do
    - know what an "if" statement is
    That should be all you need to know to follow along with the video. If you are a complete beginner and don't know any of those things, there are several other resources you can use to get there:

The CronusMax 'GPC Script Programming Support' subforum has many tutorials posted in its stickies:
    https://cronusmax.com/forums/forumdi...amming-Support

The CronusMax manual also has a GPC guide. This gives an in-depth guide to everything you can do with GPC (the programming language used by the CronusMax), and provides example scripts for you to play with as well:
    https://cronusmax.com/manual/gpc_gui...%3D%3D&mw=MzIw

Here are the two example combo start/stop expressions I mentioned in the video:

And finally, here is the script I made in the video itself: